Three Regional Courts of Appeal to Open Next Month

AKP Phnom Penh, March 24, 2020 —

Cambodia will put into official use three regional courts of appeal on April 1, 2020, said the Ministry of Justice in an announcement yesterday.

Situated in the provinces of Preah Sihanouk, Battambang and Thbong Khmum, the new courts of appeal will increase the number of such court in the country to four.

According to the press release, the Preah Sihanouk Court of Appeal will cover cases in Preah Sihanouk, Koh Kong, Kampot and Kep provinces, while the Battambang Court of Appeal will handle cases in the provinces of Battambang, Pursat, Pailin, Banteay Meanchey, Oddar Meanchey, and Siem Reap; and the Thbong Khmum Court of Appeal in the provinces of Thbong Khmum, Kampong Cham, Kampong Thom, Preah Vihear, Kratie, Stung Treng, Rattanakiri, and Mondulkiri.

Besides, it added, the existing Phnom Penh Court of Appeal will be responsible of cases in Phnom Penh capital, and Kandal, Kampong Chhnang, Kampong Speu, Takeo, Prey Veng, and Svay Rieng provinces.

There are currently 24 capital and provincial courts in the country, and the establishment of the last provincial court in Kep is on its to-do list.

By Lim Nary