NEC Releases the Process of 3rd Legislature of Council Member Election in May

AKP Phnom Penh, January 30, 2019 —

The National Election Committee (NEC) held here this morning a meeting with all stakeholders to announce the process of the 3rd legislature of municipal, provincial, city, district and Khan council election.

The meeting was chaired by H.E. Nuth Sokhom, Vice Chairman of NEC with representatives of the Constitutional Council, Ministry of Interior, 13 political parties, Embassy of Japan, 11 NGOs, and 8 media institutions in attendance.

H.E. Nuth Sokhom said the registration for this upcoming election will last from Mar. 4 to 27, 2019 and the eligible voters are only the 11,572 members of the commune/Sangkat council members.

The political parties can register from Mar. 7 to 11, 2019, and the election campaign will take place from May 17 to 24, 2019, while the polling day will be on May 26, 2019.

Currently, Cambodia has 1,646 communes/Sangkat; 203 cities, districts and khans; 25 provinces and capital.

The number of council members of capital and provinces is 559, of cities, districts, and khans 355, and of commune/Sangkat council members 11,572.

By Khan Sophirom