His Majesty the King Nominates the Component of Supreme Consultation and Recommendation Council

AKP Phnom Penh, September 07, 2018 —

His Majesty Preah Bat Samdech Preah Boromneath Norodom Sihamoni, King of Cambodia yesterday signed a royal decree to ​nominate 30 politicians as members of the Supreme Consultation and Recommendation Council (SCRC) with the rank of senior minister and minister.

According to the royal decree, half of the total 30 members were given the rank of Senior Minister and anther half the rank of minister.

SCRC was initiated on Aug. 21, 2018 during the National Consultation Forum between the Royal Government led by Prime Minister Samdech Techo Hun Sen and leaders of 16 out of the 20 political parties contesting in the recent general elections.

SCRC’s duties are to initiate and suggest ideas on policy elaboration for the Royal Government, to provide consultations on draft laws of the Royal Government before asking for the cabinet’s approval and make petitions to the Senate against the law passed by the National Assembly, as well as to provide recommendations to the Prime Minister in case of inactive or abusive act of any officials or the Prime Minister.

The SCRC, to last along with the Royal Government’s mandate, is established by a royal decree, and the membership is composed of two representatives from each participating political party on a voluntary basis and with the approval from the Prime Minister. They are nominated by a royal decree at the request of the Prime Minister.

Each political party will take over the SCRC chairmanship every month on a rotation basis in accordance with their order on the ballot paper. Therefore, the first Chairman of SCRC will be H.E. Nhek Bun Chhay, President of Khmer National United Party.

The secretariat of SCRC will be created with members from the Office of the Council of Ministers and the participating political parties. The secretariat will have its office in the Peace Palace.

SCRC’s members will be convened for a meeting every month by their chairman and every six months with the Prime Minister or at other necessary time at the Prime Minister’s convocation.

The 16 political parties are Khmer National United Party, New Light Party, Cambodian Nationality Party, Khmer Rise Party, Beehive Social Democratic Party, Republican Democratic Party, Khmer Republican Party, Reaksmey Khemra Party, FUNCINPEC Party, Khmer Economic Development Party, Cambodian Youth Party, Dharmacracy Party, Khmer Will Party, Cambodia Indigenous People Democracy Party, Khmer United Party, and CPP.

The rest – Grassroots Democracy Party, League for Democracy Party, Khmer Anti-Poverty Party, and Our Motherland Party – were not present at the consultation forum.

By Khan Sophirom