Cambodia To Create Two New Provinces

AKP Phnom Penh, August 31, 2018 —

Samdech Akka Moha Sena Padei Techo Hun Sen, Prime Minister of the Kingdom of Cambodia, early this week agreed with the request of the Ministry of Interior to conduct a feasibility study on the creation of two new provinces.

According to the request letter signed by Samdech Kralahom Sar Kheng, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Interior, some parts of Kandal province will become a new province, while the other new province will take some parts of Koh Nhek district of Mondulkiri province and Lumphat district of Rattanakiri province.

The request is aimed to enhance the effectiveness of administrative management, maintain public order and security, and promote local development and public service provision, explained the letter.

If possible, these two new provinces may be created early next year, it added.

With a total land area of 181,035 square kilometres, Cambodia is composed of a capital city, Phnom Penh, and 24 provinces, 159 districts, 12 Khan, 26 cities, 1,409 communes, 237 Sangkat, and 14,364 villages.

By Khan Sophirom