Ruling Party Respects the Voters’ Will

AKP Phnom Penh, August 16, 2018 —

Spokespersons of the ruling Cambodian People’s Party (CPP) has re-affirmed the party’s commitment to fully respect the will of the voters after winning a landslide victory in the 6th National Election on July 29, 2018.

At a press conference in Phnom Penh this morning, H.E. Sok Eysan, a CPP spokesperson, said the result released by the National Election Committee (NEC) illustrates the will of the people, especially the voters.

It does not reflect Cambodia as a one-party state, another spokesperson of CPP H.E. Chhim Phal Virun said, underlining that Cambodia remains a multi-party nation and has so far adhered to the principles of democracy and rule of law.

According to H.E. Sok Eysan, we cannot say Cambodia is a single-party nation only based on the election result. More than 40 political parties have registered at the Ministry of Interior, under the same constitution, he added, explaining that according to NEC, each of the 20 political parties participating in the July 29 general elections got votes from their respective supporters, but the seat allocation formula shows that only CPP obtains the National Assembly seats.

“People exercise their right through the democratic way, we cannot neglect their right and insult their will. We cannot compare the people’s will to the economic land concession […],” he said.

For his part, H.E. Sous Yara, also a CPP spokesperson, said CPP will follow and fully respect the will of its supporters, but Samdech Akka Moha Sena Padei Techo Hun Sen, President of CPP, already said yesterday that​ leaders of some other political parties will be invited to be political senior officials or advisors of state institutions depending on their capacity and experience.

Cambodia organises its National Election every five years, fully adheres to the free market economy and freedom of expression under the law.

The official election results announced yesterday evening confirmed that CPP won all the 125 seats at the National Assembly.


The 20 political parties contesting in the recent parliamentary election are CPP, Cambodian Youth Party, Cambodian Nationality Party, Khmer National United Party, FUNCINPEC Party, Khmer United Party, Grassroots Democracy Party, New Light Party, Beehive Social Democratic Party, League for Democracy Party, Khmer Anti-Poverty Party, Dharmacracy Party, Republican Democratic Party, Our Motherland Party, Khmer Rise Party, Khmer Economic Development Party, Khmer Will Party, Khmer Republican Party, Reaksmey Khemra Party, and Cambodia Indigenous People Democracy Party.


By Khan Sophirom