Cambodia’s General Elections Kicks Off

AKP Phnom Penh, July 29, 2018 —

The National Election, the sixth of its kind, began this morning at 7:00 in 22,967 polling stations in the 25 provinces and capital, and last until this afternoon, at 3:00.

The polling stations are open for some 8.38 million eligible voters under the witness of 79,612 local observers from 112 institutions and 538 international observers from 70 institutions and foreign embassies in Cambodia, up from about 40,000 and 243, respectively in the previous mandate, as well as 79,849 political agents from 14 out of 20 registered political parties.

Twenty (20) political parties, including the ruling Cambodian People’s Party (CPP), Cambodian Youth Party, Cambodian Nationality Party, Khmer National United Party, FUNCINPEC Party, Khmer United Party, Grassroots Democracy Party, New Light Party, Beehive Social Democratic Party, League for Democracy Party, Khmer Anti-Poverty Party, Dharmacracy Party, Republican Democratic Party, Our Motherland Party, Khmer Rise Party, Khmer Economic Development Party, Khmer Will Party, Khmer Republican Party, Reaksmey Khemra Party, and Cambodia Indigenous People Democracy Party, competed for the 125 seats at the National Assembly, up from 123 in previous election.

Samdech Akka Moha Sena Padei Techo Hun Sen, Prime Minister and President of the CPP, already cast his ballot at the Pedagogy School in Takhmao city, Kandal province; while Samdech Akka Moha Ponhea Chakrei Heng Samrin, President of the National Assembly and CPP Honorary President, in Ponhea Krek district, Thbong Khmum province; Samdech Vibol Sena Pheakdei Say Chhum, Senate President and CPP Vice President, at Wat Koh High School in Phnom Penh; and Mr. Kong Monika, President of Khmer Will Party, at Sothearos Primary School in Phnom Penh.

The fifth legislature National Election was held with the participation of eight political parties in 19,009 polling stations under the witness of 40,433 local and international observers and 54,226 agents, both titular and alternate, from seven of the eight political parties.

By Khan Sophirom